Do you Youtube or Vimeo?

I have been a Youtuber (yes there is such a word according to the online urban dictionary) for the past three or so years and have so far been pleased with the site and the opportunities it gives to up-and-coming film makers to showcase their talents/ lack there of :-).

The only time I got really pissed off was when my video “kiss me” by sixpence none the richer, had the audio muted because of copyright infringement (that law needs to be seriously upgraded, man). In my ever so humble opinion there should be a slight exception to using copyrighted materials on Youtube since most of the videos are for non-commercial purposes. I mean how can they censor a video that celebrates the art of kissing (in all its forms)?

I’ve known about Vimeo for a while now but it never really won me over from Youtube since I really didn’t see the point. Just like I wouldn’t see the point of drinking Pepsi since I’ve been a Cola head from birth. Besides, Youtube IS the mother of all video sharing sites. Some hard-core Youtubers actually claim that if you can’t find a video on Youtube it is either not relevant or unmade.

However these days I find myself drifting towards Vimeo with it’s cooler site design and superior support for HD videos (h.264 format)[great source of material for a video editor like myself]. In fact all videos on Vimeo are in this format making for a very crisp picture and sound quality experience when you’re watching videos.

However watching HD videos in Accra, GH comes at a price. Broadband over here can be very frustrating at the best of times. I use Vodafone‘s broadband internet service.In terms of their customer service (this does not only deal with rude receptionists) I and many other subscribers can testify to their hot and cold attitude to quality service delivery. You can pay for download/ upload speeds of 1mps/ 500kps respectively but at the end of the month receive download speeds of 80kps/50kps on average . No exaggerations, I assure you. Further proof of their dishonest corporate culture is in the false advertisement of their “Fastest Internet Cafe in Africa” internet cafe in Cantoments, their head office in Circle and at other locations.Absolute rubbish.

Vodafone's mascot snail

“Fastest” means I should experience speeds close to the advertised one or on average at least 5mps when network load is at peak and more when it is freer. All sorts of Advertisers Association of Ghana’ code where blatantly broken in the misleading of the public into thinking we were going to be served with 40mps on average when the real package was less pretty(but this a matter for another post).

My point is if you live in Ghana and find yourself having to choose between Youtube and Vimeo (that’s if you needed to make a choice at all) then make it based on your connection speeds. Youtube is friendlier to snail-like broadband speeds and has a larger collection and variety of videos than its rival, Vimeo.On the other hand if you are blessed to have super fast broadband speeds or higher then you should have no problems viewing Vimeo, exclusively.

MY FINAL CHOICE? Split down the middle between the two because of my unreliable internet connection. But I guess in the end I am more of Youtuber and will stay that way for some time too; I’m the loyal type.

Youtuber

One who spends so much time browsing Youtube videos that they have metaphorically taken root, in the manner of a potato or other root vegetable. A couch potato of the new millennium.
“Oh man, I haven’t showered in three days. I’ve just been sitting at my desk with a bag of Cheetos watching Youtube videos!”

“Dude, you’d better watch out you’re about to become a youtuber.”

Source: UrbanDictionary

dUkE_

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Do you Youtube or Vimeo?

  1. […] View post: Do you Youtube or Vimeo? « FOOTPRINT 2.0 […]

Leave a Reply

