On to a better place…


My heart is hurting
My soul weakened
My eyes burn,
Charlie.

For true fans of world music
You made us listen to the best.

I feel a tear drop
I cant believe you are gone.

You casually introduced me to Fado
She seduced me thoroughly.

It is through you that I came to love Manu Dibango,K’Naan, Symphiwe Dana and Mariza.

I am not one to compartmentalize my dearly departed Into levels in the afterlife.

I am sure though, you’ll be making the angels dance,
Wherever that better place is.

Dedicated to the great Charlie Gillet.


Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “On to a better place…

  1. wordwand says:

    thanks for the poem, a bitsad .
    thanks for the vid too

  2. pol159 says:

    Yeah. He was something special. Thanks for reading my silly little poem, never write when you’re in tears 🙂

Leave a Reply

